General Chaplaincy
Questions?
TEL: (626) 677-3319
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
TXT: (626) 782-5591 (Mon-Fri 9-6)
General Chaplaincy
Databases (Find Articles and Reports)
ATLA Research in Ministry (RIM) 
Research in Ministry is a thesis and dissertation abstract database. Users can search graduate works related to ministry, theology and religion.
Google Scholar @ UWest 
Use the power of Google to search for books, articles, and online resources. Access via UWest to incorporate our full text database resources.
👩🏫 Short 5 min. tutorial on accessing library resources with Google Scholar: PDF, Video. If you encounter an error such as "ERROR for site owner: Invalid domain for site key" or any of the other functions/features of Google Scholar, then use the personalized Google Scholar setup instead.
Non-Uwest patrons: Alternative access.
HeinOnline Social Justice Suite 
Specializing in the analysis of laws related to social justice topics such as
- Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture and Law,
- Gun Regulation and Legislation in America,
- Civil Rights and Social Justice,
- Open Society Justice Initiative,
- LGBTQ+ Rights.
Index Theologicus
"...a comprehensive bibliography for theology and religious studies. It is now possible to search not only for articles, but also for monographs, databases and relevant Internet links."
ProQuest PsycARTICLES
This database offers full-text articles from over 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe & Huber. The database includes all material from the print journals.
ProQuest Religion
This database provides a wide range of primarily full-text, international periodicals for diverse religious and spiritual studies, covering formal theological studies of major religions, as well as the most recent trends and scholarly thought. Included are titles from religious publishing bodies and nondenominational organizations. The resource reflects a wide spectrum of religious belief systems and supports the global study of religion.
SafetyLit
"SafetyLit provides abstracts of reports from researchers who work in the more than 30 distinct professional disciplines relevant to preventing and researching unintentional injuries, violence, and self-harm."
English Buddhist Canon
Access to Insight
A popular Theravada Buddhist website providing access to a huge collection of translated texts from the Tipitaka, as well as contemporary materials published by the Buddhist Publication Society and many teachers from the Thai Forest Tradition. Includes guide to Pali abbreviation and sutta reference numbers.
BDK Tripitaka Translation Series
Full text downloads of the BDK Tripitaka Translation Series. Click on a title and scroll down for the blue PDF download button.
Bukkyo Dendo Kyokai (BDK) Daizokyo Text Database
This database enables searching of keywords through the text of the BDK Tripitaka Translation Series.
Sutta Central
Sutta central provides the Pali Buddhist Canon with detailed references, parallels between texts, and original texts and translations, including English.
Professional Organizations
Association of Professional Chaplains
"Our more than 5,000 member chaplains and affiliates are involved in chaplaincy care of all persons, respecting their diverse cultures, identities, abilities and beliefs."
The Association for Clinical Pastoral Education
"...a multicultural, multifaith organization devoted to providing education and improving the quality of ministry and pastoral care offered by spiritual caregivers of all faiths."
Reference (Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Bibliographies)
A Chinese Translation of A.P. Buddhadatta's "Concise Pali-English Dictionary" : Digital Edition
The translation was made from the second edition (1958) of A.P. Buddhadatta's "Concise Pali-English Dictionary". First published in Colombo, this edition is now available as reprint (Delhi: Motilal Barnasidass) 294 pgs.
Critical Pāli Dictionary Online
Includes searching the dictionary online and a guide to Pāli text abbreviations.
Digital Dictionary of Buddhism
A compilation of Buddhist terms, texts, temple, schools, persons, etc. found in Buddhist canonical sources with indices to other major Buddhist dictionaries. Unlimited search available via link above.
- Non-UWest patrons can login with "guest" (limited to 10 searches per day)
- Android app: DDB Access (unlimited search does not work off campus, use 'guest' to make up to 10 searches)
Encyclopedia of Religion
This is the online version of the second edition of this highly regarded encyclopedia (physical version also available: http://uwest.worldcat.org/oclc/56057973). Comes with searchable full text entries, with information intended to reflect both changes in academia and in the world since 1987. Includes almost all of the 2,750 original entries -- many heavily updated -- as well as approximately 600 entirely new articles.
Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by The University of Tennessee at Martin.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy
A scholarly and refereed encyclopedia hosted by Stanford University.
The Pali Text Society's Pali-English dictionary
The online and searchable version of The Pali Text Society's Pali-English Dictionary. Chipstead, 1921-1925.
